You call that a Niche?

You call that a Niche?

This is a niche!

I just wanna big it up for the Net Communications blog.
It was really cool to check out other student blogs. They gave me a lot of inspiration. But enough ass-kissing…

As this blog is about Australian media, you would think the niche is pretty large. But it really isn’t.

It’s not a media outlet, so people don’t come here for news. Instead, I am commentating on trends within the Australian media. What gets reported. What gets left out. And of course, who is reporting it.

This will interest journalists, media students, media watch-dogs, and probably a user base more random that five minutes of chat roulette.

I’ve found that my posts are similar to sites like:

  • Pure Poison blog, which looks at intellectual dishonesty.
  • New Matilda
  • Gerard Henderson’s Blog
  • But also foreign blogs like:

  • Media Matter For America, which scrutinises news outlets like Fox News for their bias, bad journalism, and dodgy interview tactics.
  • Other American sites like NewsBusters try to expose ‘liberal’ bias in the media, which is sad since the media is supposed to be liberal, free and open.Media Research Center tries to balance these two streams of thought.

    This is not really what this blog is about, but it is close.

    I have drawn most inspiration from Reporters Without Borders, a French-based group which promotes the free flow of information.


    Here’s the link.

    My message is clear: exposing bad journalism, media bias, corporate influence, and trends in the Australian media. It is similar to the ABC program Media Watch with Jonathan Holmes, but differs because it is not a TV show, but a blog, with no team and no second voice. It is just me taking a step back at all the media I consume and having a big hard look.

    I work at Media Monitors as a casual. It’s a company that has people (me) who listen to radio shows, watch TV news and current affairs shows, read newspapers, check out blogs, and summarise the content. This gives an overview of what’s being talked about by the media.

    Ok, enough plugging my employer. But I blog about ‘Ausmedia’ because I consume enough to be able to analyse it on a big scale.

    Watching the traffic to and from the blog, it seems like the users are rabid media consumers and probably own iPods, iPhones, TVs, laptops, digital radios etc. So if I’m thinking of an advertising market…Bingo. Techno freaks are always after new ways to interact with information through new media. And I’ve checked out the advertising on other sites, and is mostly for laptops and smart phones.

    I’ve posted links to my site on relevant blogs like the Overstimulated blog, and have received traffic back. I think in the ‘long tail’ of the media, where relevance is crucial, this is the best technique. You can also build relationships with like-minded people. I have already made some friends with journalists and citizens doing the same thing as me. In the long tail, which is where most blogs are in the media landscape, you have to stay on topic so users come back to your site, but also so you build up some credibility.

    Chris Anderson coined the phrase ‘long tail’ and has a cool site, aptly named longtail.com, which mainly describes how people should market their products, but I think bloggers should take note. It’s like game theory – you can use it for stuff other than maths.

    I love the theory because it is a natural product of the Internet. With so many producers of content, so many niches, people can feel overwhelmed by too much info. So they stick to a niche they like. Anderson applies his theory to things like air travel, books, general products.

    For the visually stimulated, a nice graph:

    My most popular post about Catherine Deveny has been linked by a few sites.
    And she tells me her publisher Black Ink is going to put up a link. Sweeeet. I think this is the most important part of a blog. It’s the ‘no blog is an island’ mentality. It has to be relevant.I also use Facebook to promote my site. When I am researching a story on the net, I’ll post a link to my post on the page. Facebook continues to be my biggest source of traffic. Using trackbacks has also been a great way to let other blogs know that I have read their blog. It’s a great system and it’s cool when you get recommended by someone else’s blog.

    So I don’t need to post every day – people just won’t want that much information on this topic. Instead, I’ll keep it to no more than two a week. In my experience, I’ve ‘unsubscribed’ to blogs because there were too many posts. I think people in my niche will appreciate less frequent, but more comprehensive, posts.

    Essentially my niche are the people like me who consume a lot of media on various machines and gadgets.

    That is a niche.

    3 Comments

    Filed under Net Communications

    3 responses to “You call that a Niche?

    1. I really like your blog as well! It’s definitely good! Congrats on being linked by Black Ink! Keep up the good work! Let’s make our point! Cheers Olle

      http://www.thenetworkedindividual.wordpress.com

    2. As a media student I really appreciate this blog and find it to meet all my niche interest needs! Do you plan on keeping it going once the subjects over? Cause I’d read it. =D

    Leave a Reply

    